Summertime Sadness

Summertime+Sadness+2

Now this is a song I haven’t regularly listened to but I have a few times within the last week. My friend who studying abroad made me a playlist to listen to while studying or doing homework. She included this song by Lana Del Rey. The lyrics don’t speak out to me in the same sense as she’s written them for. I’ve often found that when I hear a song, I make my own meaning for what the lyrics are. Words are just words and can be interpreted in different ways. I miss a lot of what this summer was for me and I am “sad” that it’s over. I miss my friends like “the stars miss the sun in the morning sky”. That doesn’t have to be based upon a relationship. Missing someone is a deep feeling and this song portrays it well.

3 thoughts on “Summertime Sadness

  1. I love the design of your site the way it cascades across the page not just the standard top to bottom design. I need new music & I like her voice. I am going to send this to my daughter she will love it.

    • You should really check out some of her other tunes! Also, if you’re a Spotify or Pandora user, make a station off of this song so you can hear similar things!

Leave a Reply

